Not an iPhone user? See In-person sessions on your Android phone or tablet.
If you use an iPhone or iPad and want to record your in-person sessions, the Upheal Clinician iOS app is for you. Recording is simple:
Capture your session with the app.
The app automatically uploads the recording to Upheal.
Your notes will be ready in Upheal in your browser as usual.
Make sure your phone is set to Do not disturb while capturing a session. Incoming calls can interrupt recording.
Installing the Upheal Clinician app
On your mobile or tablet, follow this link, or search for Upheal in the App store.
Install the Upheal Clinician app.
Log in with your Upheal credentials.
That's it! You're ready to start recording.
Recording a session
Set your phone to Do not disturb. Receiving a call can interrupt recording.
Open the Upheal Clinician app.
Select the Capture tab at the bottom of the screen.
Select a client, or choose Anonymous.
Press Start session, and place the phone near you and your client.
While capturing audio, it's okay if your phone screen goes dark or locks. Recording will continue.During recording, you'll see a small orange dot and an orange microphone icon at the top of your screen, even if you lock and unlock your device.
When you're ready to stop, press End session.
Specify if the recording is a session recording or a dictated note, and in-person or virtual session format. Use the dropdown menus to confirm pronouns, note template, and modalities. You can also add participants, and choose to save the audio. When ready, press Generate note.
You'll be taken to the sessions tab. The session will display at the top of the list, with an icon indicating it is processing.
Once the session is uploaded, the processing icon will disappear, and the session displays in the list.When processing is complete, you can select the session from the list to view a summary in the clinician app. To view the full session note, open Upheal in a web browser on desktop.
Adjusting session settings
You can adjust the session settings, such as setting a session end reminder, or stopping the recording after a certain number of minutes, any time before or during recording by selecting the gear icon in the top right.
Recording continues while you adjust the settings, unless you have paused the recording.
Deleting a session
You can delete the recording instead of uploading it, but please be aware that deletion in the app is permanent. No notes will be generated, and we cannot retrieve deleted recordings.
To delete the recording, click the trash can icon in the top right:
When prompted to confirm, click Delete.
Our app is designed for capturing in person sessions. Unfortunately, an iPhone can't use the app to record a phone call on itself. More here if you're curious about sessions on the phone.









